Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Restaurante El Corazon. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Emily 14 days ago

Vegetarian Burrito

The veggie burrito is the best I've ever had. All the flavors of the quality ingredients meld together until its hard to recognize a single flavor. Rather every bite is a unified, hearty, and warm total delight of the senses.

Hamel0882 28 days ago

Tamales

Everything on the Menu is delicious! Since moving back to New England after living in California for 10 years, It has been extremely hard finding good Mexican food. This place does nothing wrong.

Angela 29 days ago

Mexican soups

My Mexican hubby and I just moved from Fort Worth to Portland, and needless to say, we're pretty particular about our Mexican food. I am very happy (and surprised) to say that this is some of the best menudo I've ever had (in Maine! Who would have thought?!) The meat was so tender, and the broth had a great complex flavor. They didn't forget the cilantro and cebolla on the side either. I can't wait to go back and try the posole too!

Sdtoomey about 1 month ago

Burritos

This is one of my go to places and it never disappoints. Great food no matter what you get. The fried green tomato tacos are outstanding! Good drinks too! I would highly recommend this place!

Hlfenderson about 1 month ago

Burritos

I really enjoy the Pollo Asado Burrito. I can taste how fresh the ingredients are and it's a really good size-large but not over-the top. Part of me wants to try and save some for later but I usually end up eating the entire burrito.

Sarah about 1 month ago

Fried Green Tomato Tacos

Wow wow and once again, WOW! Luis and I came to Portland from New York for a vacation this past year and we were blown away by this absolutely delicious restaurant. Portland is known for its food and when we saw there was a Mexican restaurant here we knew we had to try it. We are from Puebla, Mexico and hold Mexican food very near and dear to our hearts. To be honest, we initially did not have high expectations for this restaurant and assumed it would be 'fake' Mexican food since there are not many Mexicans in Portland. BOY WERE WE SURPRISED. El Coraz贸n Restaurante is by far the best Mexican food that we have tried in the United States! For our four day stay in Portland, we ended up coming back twice. The fried green tomato (tomatillo) tacos are so innovative and absolutely delicious, I could not get enough! The salsa that they put on top of the taco brought it together beautifully and created such a rich flavor. Luis had the tacos de suadero and love love loved them! He said that the meat was cooked beautifully. Reading the restaurant's history on the menu was so touching and made the meal ever so much more special. The reason I actually came on this website today was to show a friend where she needs to go for her upcoming trip to Portland. El Coraz贸n is a MUST! All in all, we absolutely enjoyed the food at el corazon and can't wait to go back to Portland and get some more!

Apage2145 about 2 months ago

California

Very delicious! The french fries add an amazing twist.

Loriuhland about 2 months ago

Chile Rellenos

Best Chili Rellenos I've ever had! The pepper was complex and smokey. The cheeses were delicate and oozing. So good!

Tyedyedee 2 months ago

Sonoran Hot Dog

Had more than just the dog, but the dog was amazing. Big, good snap, juicy, perfectly roasted. In a great toasty roll with a crusty outside and chewy inside. Not sure about all the toppings, but it was balanced, spicy and delicious!!!

Pboateng1212 2 months ago

Bad Hombre

We have found our new favorite restaurant! The food was absolutely delicious, fresh, creative and authentic. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. Service was outstanding we will be back soon!

Lindsaylee34 2 months ago

California

This burrito is amazing as long as they don't over do it with too many French fries!! Hits the spot:) especially when your craving steak! The owner is a wonderful, super nice guy bringing back the au8thentic flavors of his childhood. GET A SPICY MARGARITA-OMG yum with sugar rim....and the Mexican corn too

Amyparkerdesign 2 months ago

Bad Hombre

This burrito is my go-to. I love spice, and this is the real deal with raw jalapenos and hot sauce. I have the meat replaced with veggies, and it's a real treat.

Shannderson 3 months ago

Burritos

So yummy! Love the burritos, great apps and margarita pitchers! 馃構

Aegis4 3 months ago

Pollo en Mole Contains Peanuts

Had a Margherita, chicken enchilada with mole, and a tamale. Excellent food, excellent service, great place to hangout with friends and having a good time. The location is just right, not too big or too small. Great looking lamb tacos and burritos too.

Julieconcarney 3 months ago

Tacos

Absolutely delicious. Best tasting tortillas around and the Al Pastor Tacos are 馃憣

Olsen 4 months ago

Sundevil Combination Plate

This is typically my go to dish here, just because I can get a nice variety of food. The chile relleno is awesome, the tamales are killer, and the suisas enchiladas are to die for. Absolutely love it, and will always come back for more!

Willeyd87 18 days ago

Burritos

California burrito = da bomb. Fast, friendly staff. Also the churros are awesome

Faria 28 days ago

Burritos

I have had just about everything on their menu and it is all delicious. I exceptionally love their fish Burritos/tacos. They have the best Mexican food in all of Maine

Tyegeland about 1 month ago

Burritos

Soft and moist tortilla, nice big pieces of chicken, and a killer hot salsa.

Pseudo about 1 month ago

Grilled Mexican corn

I've been to El Corazon twice. Both times I ordered the grilled corn and it was so good that I decided to just order two on my next visit. I can't express how tasty it is. AND it's a full ear of corn, not the middle with the ends cut out. It doesn't leave you wanting! I also ordered the chicken chimichanga and it was the best chimichanga I have ever had. About the size of a burrito, super crispy on the outside, delicious!

Sarah about 1 month ago

Grilled Mexican corn

Delicious appetizer with a little bit of spice - highly recommend!

Elisesdaddy about 2 months ago

Tacos

The lingua tacos are the best and their menudo is killer. Best Mexican food in Maine.

Davidvuhland about 2 months ago

Lamb Shank in Adobo Sauce

Amazing! The lamb was melt-in-your-mouth tender, and so flavorful! The complex rich, thick, sauce was mind-blowing even by itself. Totally worth the extra cost... and the slightly longer prep time. Might be the best lamb dish I've ever had, of any style.

Ltmoncure about 2 months ago

Chimichangas

Great chimichangas and delicious cocktails!

Pboateng1212 2 months ago

Taquitos

We have found our new favorite restaurant! The food was absolutely delicious, fresh, creative and authentic. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. Service was outstanding we will be back soon!

Adamtarr 2 months ago

Burritos

California burrito is the BEST!! I was eating at the shop on State St. and I knew I had tasted this burrito before.. I ate at their food truck in San Diego a while back previously and it was the same magic, just at home in Portland! I love this spot and frequently visit with my wife, co-workers and business meetings. I would highly recommend this as a go-to for lunch or evening dishes. The owner is the one to answer the phone for orders the majority of the time and he is always very friendly and helpful. I'll be there today 9/10 @ 2:30 for a business lunch and many more in the future!

Hfirestone 2 months ago

California

I absolutely can't get enough of this place! The owner is so nice and I love that he is present around the restaurant. My husband and I always get burritos- the food is fresh and portions are perfect. I also like the decorations inside! Very charming

Mgantos 3 months ago

Burritos

Honestly how can one choose which food to review? Everything on this menu is delicious from Fish Burritos to the Chorizo Sopas! great portions, fantastic service, and most importantly, the food is high quality and consistent! I've never had a bad dish at this restaurant, my partner and I frequent this establishment because of the great food and the great service. Special shout out to Simonne and Kevin, the LITERAL BEST bartender and server pair I've ever had the pleasure of giving my money to. They really are the cinnamon coating on the churros in making this place one of my favorite restaurants in Portland.

Martahaydym 3 months ago

Tacos

The beef tongue is the bomb!

Bill 3 months ago

Quesadillas

I keep coming back for the Steak Quesadilla's. The meat is always tender, the vegetables fresh and the flour tortillas are perfect. And the best part for me is that there's always plenty left over to take home for another meal!

Tcnromper 4 months ago

California

The California burrito is definitely a top choice...heck, I don't think I have had anything at El Corazon that wasn't. Great food and great people!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co., Portland,OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant, Los Angeles,CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus,GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo,NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod,MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst,NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta,GA