Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Restaurante El Corazon. We'd love to have your feedback!

Portland

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Restaurante El Corazon and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Jacob 6 days ago

Tacos

Fantastic! Lots of white onion and cilantro

Donna 8 days ago

Tacos

You need to look out the window to make sure you are in Portland Maine and not the border of Mexico. Everything we ordered was amazing. The timing of the drinks, appetizers and then the main course were perfect! There was no room for dessert but there's always the next time and rumor has it they serve the best Churros on the east coast! Service very friendly and a terrific neighborhood Mexican restaurant! Now I just need to locate their food truck for more!

Marc about 1 month ago

Tamales

We live about 20 minutes away and it's worth the drive for take-out! We had tamales, pozole, tacos, guacamole and more. Everything is flavorful and well-presented. The good news is that everything reheats very nicely since it's 20 minutes home as well!

Jtalamelli about 1 month ago

Burritos

It is very rear to find a good Burrito in Maine not to mention with beef tongue or cheek. Not only did I like the meat selection the food was delicious! The Burritos are the size of my forearms and are amazing. I've become a frequent customer when I'm in the mood for some delicious Mexican. The Enchiladas are excellent too. I haven't had anything that I didn't enjoyed yet. Try it yourself you won't be disappointed.

Wilson about 2 months ago

Camaron (Shrimp)

Somewhere between a luxurious shrimp cocktail and the best gazpacho imaginable, this is one of my favorite dishes in Portland. Piquant, spicy, lively, fresh, and surprising. Careful, the large-size version will fill you up-- Ask the chef his inspiration and history of this recipe: it's a great story...

Nicholas about 2 months ago

Bad Hombre

This is one of my favorite burritos ever! I usually drip salsa picante on a burrito, but even though it's included in the take-out bag, I never need to use it. I love the combination of meats, the cheese, and the heat.

Emily 2 months ago

California

This is legitimately one of the best burritos I've ever had. It's my personal favorite of the Portland area and my go-to at El Corazon.

Cam 2 months ago

Jalapeno Poppers (3)

Not for the faint of heart! If you love spice, sign yourself up for a serving of the jalapeno poppers. They were deliciously crisp on the outside and stuffed with the mitigating smoothness of cheese. And they were spicy HOT. Perfect partner for the spicy margarita!

Angiefouquette 2 months ago

Fried Green Tomato Tacos

These tacos are amazing. The crisp on the tomato, the sauce, and the beans here are the best you can get anywhere.

Gracie 3 months ago

Pollo en Mole Contains Peanuts

The mole is probably the best I have ever had. And they are incredibly generous with it - so much so that the lovely staff will bring you extra chips to scoop up the excess sauce after you've devoured the entire platter. The rice and beans side is delicious and this is probably the dish I would recommend above all their other amazing options.

Tuckeradams2012 3 months ago

California

The California Burrito was spectacular. Meat was well seasoned and cooked to perfection. Paired with Jalapeno Poppers and it makes an excellent meal!

Ewday1 3 months ago

Bad Hombre

Absolutely love the bad hombre! Me and my partner have been treating ourselves to El Corazon about once a week lately and almost every time both of us get the bad hombre. Delicious and filling!

Sarebare22 3 months ago

Appetizer Platter

Ordered your app platter this evening and I was not disappointed! Especially love the taquitos!

Susan 3 months ago

Flan

You can't go wrong going to Restaurante El Corazon for dinner in Portland. The food is outstanding! With all the places in Portland that has great food, El Corazon is our favorite go-to restaurant!! If you haven't been, you're missing out. Our favorite is the Sundevil Carne Asada Steak with a Nostalgia Punch. To top it off, A flan for me and churros for dessert

Rich 4 months ago

Sopes

I thought I knew Mexican food, but the sopes were a wonderful surprise. Absolutely delicious. I had it with carnitas. The price was totally reasonable, too. My wife and I aren't huge eaters, so with the rice and beans that come with the dish, this was dinner for two for less than $15 with tax. We actually ordered the menudo too, but the sopes was enough for us to the menudo was saved for the following day.

Dvargas2890 4 months ago

Bad Hombre

I had this burrito on my first getaway with my now wife of going on 2 years. We sat outside and realised it was happy hour. Tingles from the spice of the burrito cooled by the tingle of the foam from my Tecate. Best burrito I have had in a long time. P.S. My wife and I are returning for a second trip August 6 thru the 9th and just saw that this contest exists. It would be so cool to be able to dine again, amid the virus, and rekindle those fond memories. And my belly afterwards!

Vargasdavidjr1 4 months ago

Bad Hombre

First trip to Maine and got this MONSTER of a burrito with some Tecate beer in the afternoon sun. Spice, savory, and definitely worth the try. And... a duck tour bus passed by while were eating. Dinner and a show!

Michael 4 months ago

Burritos

Since COVID hit, I've had a chance to order from all of the Mexican style restaurants in the Portland area. El Corazon was by far the best. The food was excellent, the price was on par with everyone else, and the menu had a wide variety to choose from. I ordered Burrito and grilled corn. Both were superb. My only complaint was that I wanted to order both dishes again as my Father's Day dinner of choice, however you were closed. That was disappointing.

Bryhanah 4 months ago

Sonoran Hot Dog

If you haven't tried one of these, I absolutely recommend! They're the only way to eat a hot dog now

Gringel 4 months ago

Lamb Shank in Adobo Sauce

Tender, beautifully seasoned lamb shank, worthy of any fine dining venue. This generous portion was delicious; complemented by terrific sauce and side dishes.

Mhickey49 7 days ago

Birria de Chivito (Young Goat)

Exceptional. Ever since I first had the birria, I've been unable to order anything else!—Though it's all great at El Corazon! Fresh, wholesome ingredients, cooked and seasoned to perfection, in a clean, friendly, comfortable atmosphere. Not only the best Mexican in Portland, but one of the best restaurants. And super affordable (with a great happy hour!)! Thanks for the great food, El Corazon!

Jim 18 days ago

Pollo en Mole Contains Peanuts

Best Chicken Mole ever!

Lauren about 1 month ago

Fried Green Tomato Tacos

These are the most amazing tacos ever. I'm not even a vegetarian but these are my favorite tacos in Portland!

Tricia about 2 months ago

El Corazon Platter

This is our go to for take out. We almost feel guilty ordering this since it's so much amazing food for a small price. This feeds our family of 5 which includes 2 teenage boys. This is the best Mexican food in the U.S. Their red tamales are fantastic as well.

Satchelbutter about 2 months ago

Burritos

Such a killer mouth watering burrito and in no time- their takeout is great! Nice texture, well seasoned, beef would recommend. Chipotle who? The hatch chili sauce was also excellent. I'll be back!!!

Annaclyden about 2 months ago

Camaron A-La-Diabla (Deviled shrimp)

This was the perfect combination of savory and spicy, with a wonderful array of sides to mix in! The shrimp is deliciously seasoned, too.

Wesley 2 months ago

Chips & Salsa

For those that know me, I could live off chips and salsa. I'm the guy at the party that stands by the bowl of chips and is putting salsa covered, crisps of heaven into my mouth one right after the next. El Corazon offers perfectly salty, crunchy chips with salsa that is the exact right combination of flavor, consistency, and spice. You can't go wrong here and they don't skimp on quality for even the most basic items. Can't wait for my next helping with a refreshing margarita!

Joellis 2 months ago

Burritos

A GREAT place to eat,,It never fails..The food is excellent..and the staff is very friendly.. and it is reasonably priced..A must try...

Elizabethgrenier47 2 months ago

Tamales

The absolute best, authentic Spanish Mexican cuisine, clearly made with pure love! We have lived in Maine for 20 years and have finally found our one true favorite restaurante!! The Tamales are exactly how my Grandma Concha used to make and I am utterly delighted!!!

Joshua 3 months ago

Burritos

I had the Fish Burritos and it might just be the best burrito in Portland! It is so flippen flavorful and a awesome portion. Also had the churros which were also fantastic

Bacon 3 months ago

Quesadillas

No joke definitely the best quesadillas I've ever had Fell in love with my first bite Definitely will be coming back for more I highly recommend this item you won't be disappointed It's everything you could dream of in a quesadilla and more Definitely recommended

Lee80 3 months ago

Birria de Chivito (Young Goat)

This is the most authentic and delicious Mexican food in Maine. Staff is friendly, and meals have good portions.

Pickledfairy 3 months ago

Taquitos

We ordered shredded beef taquitos, beef tamales and chips and salsa. Everything blew our minds! The fresh salsa had just the right amount of kick to wake up your taste buds and leave a tingle. I had never tried tamales before and the savory beef inside was mouth watering. I will certainly be ordering them again. The taquitos were crunchy and light without being oily and the filling was unctuous and flavorful. We can't wait to order again.

Laura 3 months ago

Suisas (Swiss)

My favorite item so far! It's absolutely delicious.

Adsiew 4 months ago

Tostadas

We come here about once a month. I had chicken tostada today. The chicken was so full of flavor! It came w delicious rice and beans. My daughter had the tacos 1 chicken 1 pork and she loved it! Great job El Corazón!

Sarebare22 4 months ago

Burritos

We recieved some delcious meals from you all through 2dinein at my workplace yesterday. I tried the vegetarian burrito and it was delicious! Ive never visited your establishment before but im definitely hooked and i will be by for sure for some more delcious food!

Jennybalfrey 4 months ago

Quesadillas

We have ordered take out from here several times in the past few months with restaurants being closed for dine in. Take out never tastes as good, but I must say everything we have has has been delicious! My son had a chicken quesadilla and it was by far the best I have ever had, the grilled chicken was so flavorful. The tortilla soup was amazing. We have not been disappointed with anything.

Espo 4 months ago

Chile Rellenos

Delicious!

Gringel 4 months ago

Fajitas

Generous portion of perfectly grilled steak. Accompanying vegetables and sides are a delicious complement. The flour tortillas are terrific -- either on the side or filled with contents of the plate. Tastes are fresh and spices beautifully blended -- truly great fajitas.

Amy 4 months ago

Bad Hombre

SO good. Just the right mix of meat and rice. Perfect char on the tortilla. Don't worry about it being too spicy. It's not crazy spicey.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA